Quote Me Happy


January 3rd Daily Post:

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

There are a few quotes which I find I never tire of, and there are a few reasons.

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.” – Winston Churchill

Winston Churchill was an incredibly inspiring man. He’s one of a few people who have shown beyond all others that depression only makes the going tough, and not completely impossible. He guided the country through one of the toughest periods of the 20th century while fighting an internal struggle on an equal scale.

He also coined my favourite metaphor for depression, and the name for this blog – “The Big Black Dog”. It’s powerful and evocative, especially if you get the chance to read I Had a Black Dog by Matthew Johnstone.

“A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor” – English Proverb

This is something I’ve quoted once before on this blog. It was in an image, as these things often are. Despite my considerable Google-Fu I’ve not been able to find an original source for the saying, beyond the ambiguous “English Proverb”.

The thing I really like about it is the reminder that whatever has happened to me in the past, today, now, this is where I am. It’s something I really need to bear in mind sometimes, or I’d easily get stuck, bogged down by heavy yesterdays.

If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe – Carl Sagan

I use this quote all over the internet, as a tagline, or a summary, or whatever else may call for a short but important statement. It says a different thing to different people at different times. There’s a great interpretation of the Carl Sagan quote at that link but to me it means something simpler; don’t walk before you can run. Build your tower from the ground up.

There are a lot of other quotes which I find inspiring and interesting – what are your favourites? Let me know, you might give me one I’ve never heard before.

4 thoughts on “Quote Me Happy

  1. I forget the exact wording, but it doesn’t matter. The Law of Fives, demonstrated to me by that wonderful tome, Illuminatus! Hagbard Celine probably said it more fluidly than me.
    “All things can be related to the number five. This relationship is universal and can always be proven, given enough ingenuity from the demonstrator.”

    Anything can be made to appear related if you try. It’s a good rule of thumb for the internet – how hard is That Poster trying to prove That Point?
    It’s also a rather fun thing to do. I indulge in pointless superstition that I know is not significant except for the fact that I’ve chosen to make it Significant. Five, twenty-three, three hundred and thirty-three. The House on Ash Tree Lane. Slenderman. Our Lady of Discord.

    Sometimes, noticing silly synchronicities and coincidences tickles a part of the brain that wants to be tickled, so I do.

  2. “The edge, there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over.” – Hunter S Thompson

    This suits so many frames of reference that I hesitate to define it. It carries me forward and that’s what counts.

What do you think?

