Prozac, and the other Seven Deadly Sins.


So, as you may have noticed, my treatment for depression hasn’t been going anywhere so far. I’ve had ups and downs, but mostly downs. So today, my doctor has given me Prozac. He called it Fluoxetine, so I didn’t realise what it actually was until I came home and googled it. He’s also putting my name forward for CBT (Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy) on the NHS. I assume that this means St Leonard’s Gate

So, Prozac. Wikipedia tells me ‘Fluoxetine was shown to be effective for depression in 6-week long double-blind controlled trials where it also alleviated anxiety and improved sleep.’ This would be brilliant if it worked. Depression, anxiety and poor sleep are all big problems for me. If it works like it claims to, this could really be the break that I need to be able to get through the CBT and take something useful from it.

Wikipedia goes on to say ‘The recent research suggests that a significant part of the resistance to the SSRIs paroxetine (Paxil) and citalopram (Celexa) can be explained by the genetic variation of Pgp transporter. Paroxetine and citalopram, which are Pgp substrates, are actively transported from the brain by this protein. Fluoxetine is not a substrate of Pgp, and thus a switch from paroxetine or citalopram to fluoxetine may be beneficial to the non-responders’

What brilliant news. I’m all hopeful!

However, this week I’m not allowed to take anything at all, since I need the Citalopram to ‘wash out’ of my system before I can start taking the new stuff. So please bare with me if I seem more hopeless and rubbishy than usual.

I love you all for putting up with me.

What do you think?

