Absence makes the something something something


So, for some reason my creative muscles have been tired lately and I’ve barely written a thing. This is an attempt to remedy that.

When I was younger, I always thought that my life had one direction. I was going to go to university, fall in love, get a job and a house and have kids. Such vague plans, but I always thought that I was going to go down the ‘normal’ road of life. Over the last few years, it’s become increasingly clear to me that this is not the case. My priorities, views and outlooks have changed and matured since I was 15 and day-dreamed about these things.

Now, my ideals for life are widely spread apart and a fair way from what actaully might be possible in life. There are a million things I want to do, and I thought I’d share a few of them with you today.

Owning and running my own business

Although I no longer am, I used to be quite commited to the online game ‘The World of Warcraft’. As such, any trip to Swansea I made as a teen had to include a visit to the Internet and LAN gaming cafe, Crossfire. After getting bored of the shops, it was the perfect place to go to wait for the frustratingly infrequent train home to Ferryside.

There is a long post on my livejournal about the finer points of the thing, how I want to combine the LAN/internet cafe with a milkshake bar, all the considerations that need to be taken into account. Basically, I achieve most when I have to put in a high amount of effort at the beginning of a project and then can maintain a low level throughout the rest. In theory, I want a job where I can spend a lot of time writing. Running a shop seems like it could offer me that opportunity.

Furthering my education

I have never succesfully completed any form of higher education. For my whole life, getting a degree has been more or less a given, right up until it came to the actual getting it part of the plan. Twice I tried and twice I failed at the normal education pathway. As such, I have been doing other things instead. I’ve been attending courses at the adult college, and am seriously considering taking up a degree with the OU.

Because my mum is a fantastic woman, she has impressed upon my brother and I that academics is not the only place to go for learning. I want to learn life’s lessons. I want to read about subjects that interest me, visit places, meet people, see, watch, feel, do everything. No sir, you don’t have to have a degree to be intelligent.

Experience

I want to travel the world. I want to experience what life has to offer. Love, loss, heat, chill, wind and rain. I want to taste and smell all the world’s food. I want to play all the games. I want to stand on the top of a mountain and greet the sky. I want to tell the people I care about how they make me feel. I want to stand in front of the world and announce my love for someone. I want to cradle a new born baby in my arms. I want to look at my own face in the mirror and be proud of what I see. I want to live life.

2 thoughts on “Absence makes the something something something

What do you think?

